Blog for Pamela’s Event Design


I’ve been querying wedding vendors about their experiences with brides and grooms.  One of the questions is “What questions do you hate?”  In this mini-series of blog posts, you will have a better understanding of life on the other side of the wedding planning process.  My first vendors are photographers.  Here are replies from two of them:

“I have a friend who likes to take pictures.  Can she follow you around and take them while you’re taking yours?”

“AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAACCCCCCCCCCCKKKKKKKKKKK!”  This drives me crazy!  First of all, I have to deal with their flash going off, which interferes with my pictures.   It’s like dragging around a toddler, and it takes me twice as long to do my photos.”

“Hey, I just wanted to send you a link to this photographer.  I really like their style.  This is to give you an idea of some things I would like.”

“For us, being that we are 100% purist in photojournalism, the suggestion is usually for fashion/traditional work.  During our consultation, we go into great depths to explain and define our style.  We have a well defined style, which is not for everyone, and we are fully prepared to turn away business if a client wants something other than what we provide.  It is so very important for a bride to be fuly aware, and comfortable with how their photographer operates.  To ask a photographer to mimic another photographer’s style is insulting, and will limit their personal capabilities in serving you best with their personal expertise.  So, in a nutshell….do your research and know what’s important to you when it comes to the documentation of your day.”

I know the questions that frustrate me, but it’s interesting to learn from other vendors the ins and outs of their business.  I will continue this discussion with other photographers, caterers, bakers, florists, and videographers, so stay tuned.

Comments on: "Questions Wedding Vendors Hate" (1)

  1. I remember from my first wedding I hired a good friend who was a photographer by profession. He got so caught up in the reception and took very few pictures. I vowed after that not to hire someone I knew.

    Another thing, choose a minister who really knows you and your mate. I chose to go back home to get married at my mother’s wishes but i didn’t know the minister and he only knew what my mother told him. It was a very impersonal wedding–much unlike the second one I had. That’s because Nate and I attended the same church and our pastor knew us up close and personal.

Leave a Reply

