Blog for Pamela’s Event Design


Save a Tree

Make your own invitations.  Why pay all that money to have an engraved invitation, when the majority oferins-program_web them are going to be posted on a fridge until after the wedding, at which time they will be tossed?  Designing your own invitation, and printing it on stock paper is a super alternative, plus you can add your personal flair to it.

Make your invitations the size of the standard envelope, so that it doesn’t require extra postage.

You don’t have to have a separate RSVP card.  Put the RSVP directly on the invitation, with your contact information. 

Set up a wedding web site. ( www.wordpress.com) is FREE!  Your guests can RSVP directly to your site.  Include directions to the ceremony and reception gift registry, basically anything you want to communicate to your guests. A wedding web site is where you will add photos of you and your groom’s courting experience, and other interesting things about you.

Excerpt from “99 Things You Wish You Knew Before You Planned Your Wedding” by Pam Archer, Copyright 2008.  All rights reserved.  www.99-series.com

Comments on: "Wedding Savings Tip Number Three" (6)

  1. menopausemama said:

    I was planning to make my own invitations when Nate and I got married but then we went TOTALLY PRIVATE so no invitations were necessary. I think making your own is an excellent idea and you can get really creative with them.

  2. I think there could be a pre-bridal shower which included all the bridal party (yes, men too!) where they could all sit down and have a creative craft session of making the invites – what do you think?

    They might not be the fanciest but they would certainly be the most fun!

    BTW – I am LOL still at your comment about “Chuck’s Nuts Roasting on an Open Fire” at Eileen’s blog post!!! Honestly, Pam, I almost fell off the chair laughing!

  3. Great tip. My daughter made her own invitations and it saved us a fair amount of money. But I never thought of setting up a website for the RSVPs. What a great idea!

  4. My sister-in-law recently got married. She made her own invitations and they are the most beautiful and memorable invites I’ve ever received…

  5. My friend made her own invitations and was too lovable
    .. nice
    http://www.qwerz.com

  6. We made our own invitations because I really couldn’t find anything I loved. It was definitely a labor of love and I would encourage every couple to give it a shot. Definitely more budget and eco-friendly too!

Leave a Reply

