Blog for Pamela’s Event Design

DIY Friday for Weddings


For DIY Friday, I am featuring a table I designed for a Bridal Show, and will be using it for a Spring Tea next week.  It’s perfect for a laid-back, outdoor rehearsal dinner, bridal shower, or even your reception.  The ideas pictured can be done by anyone!

The chargers were made with terra cotta plant saucers.  I used craft paint and a sponge brush to paint them.  Maria did the writing on them with a paint pen.  The honey bees are stickers.

You will notice the tiny watering cans that the napkins are tied to.  They are also terra cotta.  All of these supplies were purchased at Michaels, but other craft stores like Hobby Lobby carry them.  You can go on-line to these stores and print coupons.

The centerpiece and the miniature bird baths are simply a terra cotta pot turned upside down with a terra cotta plant saucer glued to the top.  I bought the mossy center at Michael’s. 

We have used beeswax over cylinder vases several times.  You can buy it by the sheet, and in many different colors at Miller’s Honey  All you have to do is wrap it around the vase and press along the seam to seal it.

I do apologize for the gerbera daisy that is there.  Someone stuck it in the vase while my back was turned.  LOL  Anyway, it would look cute with flowers in it, or with a battery operated flicker light.  You can use a glass votive inside, but you have to be careful to keep it in the center of the cylinder or the heat will melt the wax.

22209-976

I love the party favors!  They are little ceramic bee hives that hold honey.  They have a tag that says “Meant to Bee” on them.  You can order them at my Favor Shop.  The accents of the bumble bees on the glass drinking jars, the butterfly and the lady bugs on the table bring it all together. 

I’m a big believer that the best way to transform a setting is with table linens.  This table idea would not have been nearly as cut on a white table cloth.  You can rent this darling polka dot one at White Table They ship anywhere in the U.S. and shipping is cheap.

22209-979

Terra cotta pot art is fun to do, and you are only limited by your imagination.  I hope this post gets your creative juices flowing.  Have fun planning your wedding.  If I can help you or answer questions, I am here for you.

Pamela’s Exclusive Floral & Event Design

Comments on: "DIY Friday for Weddings" (6)

  1. I looked at the pictures before I read your post and my intitial thought was, “What kind of theme is this?” It does look like something for an outdoor type wedding. Not my particular taste but I could see how some couples would be drawn to it. I loved the “Bee Blessed” Cute.

    • Beverly,

      That table was set for a ladies brunch which had a garden theme, but it would be cute for a bridal shower, too. Thanks for stopping by.

      Pam

  2. I just love this table! It is happy and just lovely. What a great idea and touch you have for details. Love it! Hugs, Bobbi Jo

  3. Lovely! What did you use over the painted plates to be able to make it possible to eat food off of it?

    • I used this at a brunch where the food was plated on the clear plastic plates. They fit nicely inside the chargers. It was fun to do!

Leave a Reply

