Blog for Pamela’s Event Design


Congratulations to Tracy Lewis, who had the closest guess without going over.  She guessed 383.  There were 393 flowers on the dog.

I like to take time to get to know my brides and grooms.  I want to know how they met, what their hobbies and interests are, what they have in common,those kinds of things.  It is through this gathering of information that I can help them personalize their wedding.

My bride from this weekend works for a veterinarian.  The groom is over the community volunteer fire department.  For their favors, I suggested making cookies in the shape of a dog bone, an idea which they loved and adopted.  I told them I would come up with a way to display them.

As a surprise for them, I wielded an attempt at making my first dog from flowers.  My son-in-law, Joe, can do anything!  I called him on Thursday and asked if he would make a dog form for me to cover with flowers.  This guy made a huge block out of a lot of smaller blocks of oasis.  Then, he proceeded to carve this dog, complete with personality!  We were in awe!  It took him about three hours to make his part of the dog.  It took me about four hours to cover it with flowers. 

I owe a special thanks to my friend, and fellow wedding planner, Dawn Kelly, owner of Soiree Floral, for sharing her tips and tricks with me.  Dawn services the New England, Cape Cod, Nantucket area, so if you are in need of a top-notch planner, call her.

The first person to guess  how many flowers it took to cover this dog, will win a copy of my book, “99 Things You Wish You Knew before You Planned Your Wedding.”  Contest ends Monday, May 18th.  Please leave your guess in the comment box.  You will be notified by e-mail.

Here are photos of the dog:

The Dog

 

The Dog 2

 

The Dog Rear View

The Dog Bone Favor Cookies

Comments on: "Wedding Reception Dog was a Hit" (5)

  1. Bryan Slagle said:

    150

  2. My guess is 383 flowers lol

  3. Awesome! My guess 500

  4. Tese Stephens said:

    3500

Leave a Reply

